The 2022 CMT Artists of the Year special will air tonight (10/14) on CMT. Filmed on Wednesday night (10/12) in Nashville, CMT honored Kane Brown, Walker Hayes, Luke Combs, Carly Pearce, and Cody Johnson as the five artists of the Year.

They also honored Alan Jackson as the CMT Artist of a Lifetime and Lainey Wilson as the CMT Breakout Artist of the Year.

The “Artists of the Year” is determined by what acts dominated the last 12 months in country music across all CMT platforms and notched number-one albums and singles.

In a press release back in September , CMT’s Senior Vice President of Production said, “We are honored to recognize the astounding achievements of this illustrious group of artists over the past Year. Carly, Cody, Luke, Kane, and Walker all represent the vibrant future of the country music format as they defy convention and blaze new trails, breaking industry records and genre barriers. We can’t wait to celebrate their extraordinary accomplishments alongside their fellow artists and friends.”

Carly Pearce, Cody Johnson, and Walker Hayes are first-time CMT Artists of the Year, while Kane Brown and Luke Combs were each honored for the third time (2019, 2021 & 2022).

Sign me up to be a member of Club QYK!

Club QYK has your access to concert presale information, personalized country music news, exclusive contests and local events.

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.