Carly Pearce, Cody Johnson, Kane Brown, Luke Combs, and Walker Hayes are the 2022 “CMT Artist Of The Year.” The ceremony is set for Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center and will premiere on CMT on 9p/8c Friday, October 14.

The “Artists of the Year” is determined by what acts dominated the last 12 months in country music across all CMT platforms, and notched number one albums and singles.

In a press release, Margaret Comeaux, CMT’s Senior Vice President of Production, said, “We are honored to recognize the astounding achievements of this illustrious group of artists over the past year. Carly, Cody, Kane, Luke, and Walker all represent the vibrant future of the country music format as they defy convention and blaze new trails, breaking industry records and genre barriers. We can’t wait to celebrate their extraordinary accomplishments alongside their fellow artists and friends.”

Carly Pearce, Cody Johnson, and Walker Hayes are first-time CMT Artists of the Year, while Kane Brown and Luke Combs will each be honored for the third time (2019, 2021 & 2022).

The special will include some of country music’s biggest stars, who will perform to honor Pearce, Johnson, Brown, Combs, and Hayes.

Musical pairings, special guests, additional honorees, performers, and presenters will be announced in the coming weeks.

Carly said of the honor on her Instagram, “The last year of my life has been something out of a country music fairy tale. All of the dreams I’ve had since I was a little girl have made their way to my reality. Thank you, @CMT, for naming me one of their Artists of the Year. What a year it’s been for a girl who always wanted to sing country music.”

Little Big Town’s Karen Fairchild responded with four hand-clapping emojis. CMT also commented, “Dreams come true! We can’t wait to celebrate you.” One fan said, “You need your own tour, no Blake opener nonsense lol you are phenomenal and my favorite female artist.”