It may seem outlandish but you can go to jail for cheating on your spouse in many states. Some of them will actually fine you but others will sentence you to jail for cheating on your significant other. And the punishments for this act vary greatly depending on the location. It’s not just one state but more like 16 different states in the country that will fine you or give you jail time including the state of Florida. Although, it does matter how much evidence you have when caught, watch out. You can go to jail for having consensual sex and stepping out of your marriage.

States You Can Go To Jail For Cheating:

Let’s be honest, we all know one person in our lives that has stepped out of their marriage before. It’s not a rare occurrence at all. There are some hefty jail sentences and jail time that can be issued in many states across America. In these states listed below, infidelity in marriage is still a crime. Most of these states define adultery as sexual intercourse between a married person and someone other than their spouse.

According to WomensDay, many European countries once had similar laws, almost all were repealed in the 70’s and 80’s. In many of these U.S. states, cheating is considered a misdemeanor. However there are several like in Idaho, Massachusetts, Michigan, Oklahoma, and Wisconsin, where it’s classified as a felony. As an example, in Massachusetts getting caught sleeping with someone else can result in a fine of up to $500 and up to three years in prison. New York is the only other state in the Northeast where adultery is still illegal, carrying a penalty of up to three months in jail for infidelity. In most of these cases it’s just easier to stay faithful and keep it in your pants. You won’t get jail time or a fine if you don’t cheat.

9 States Where You Can Be Fined Or Go To Jail:

  • #1 Florida

    In a place where bathing suits are the norm, it’s natural for eyes to wander. However, he should keep his hands to himself: Floridian adulterers can face up to two months in jail and fines of up to $500. So watch out!

    florida slang

  • #2 Arizona

    Having an affair with someone other than your spouse is a Class 3 misdemeanor here, punishable by up to 30 days in jail. Both the unfaithful spouse and their partner in crime will face penalties. Sounds like it’s not worth it at all!. Why go to jail when you don’t have to at all. empty jail cell

  • #3 Illinois

    See if it’s worth cheating in this state! In Illinois, the consequences for adultery can include up to a year in jail for both parties involved. Seems like a hefty fine for sex. But watch out before you do it. Arrest, handcuff

  • #4 Kansas

    In Kansas, engaging in “intercourse or sodomy” with someone other than your spouse is a Class C misdemeanor. This means it’s punishable by up to a month in jail and a fine of up to $500. Imagine spending one month in jail for cheating! Seems extreme to us.

    Here Is The Most Committed Crime In Florida Careful, long exposure using tripod to capture flashing police car lights during daylight.

  • #5 Massachusetts

    So how does Massachusetts stack up? Well, you can go to jail for a long time! It’s classified as a felony, carrying a fine of up to $500 and a potential jail sentence of up to three years. WOW!

    A person hold the bars while occupying a jail cell.

  • #6 Oklahoma

    This might seem crazy! However, adulterers can face fines of up to $500 and imprisonment for up to five years in Oklahoma. 5 years in prison for cheating! Not worth it at all.

    Handcuff Man

  • #7 Michigan

    In Michigan, cheating on your spouse is a felony and a Class H offense. According to the State of Michigan Sentencing Guideline Manual, the penalty is jail or other intermediate sanction. Doesn’t seen like it’s worth giving in to temptation. Might as well keep it in your pants. Or it seems you might go to jail.

    Tampa Rapper Turned Himself In After The Shooting That Happened Near Armature Works

    (Getty Royalty Free)

  • #8 New York

    Engaging in extramarital affairs in the city that never sleeps, could lead to a jail term of up to 3 months. Can you believe that? That’s pretty huge for the biggest city in America! Lesson learned… Don’t cheat.

    police, arrest, cop

    (Getty Royalty Free)

  • #9 Georgia

    So how does Georgia look compared to everyone else? To steer clear of a fine of up to $1,000 or a potential jail term of up to a year. Make sure you’re kind and considerate to your partner and don’t cheat. Be a sweet peach instead.

    Dating app or site in mobile phone screen. Man swiping and liking profiles on relationship site or application. Single guy using smartphone to find love partner and girlfriend. Mockup website.

Sign me up to be a member of Club QYK!

Club QYK has your access to concert presale information, personalized country music news, exclusive contests and local events.

*
*
By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.