Carly Pearce is a nominee for her “What He Didn’t Do” music video for Female Video of the Year at the upcoming 2023 CMT Music Awards on April 2 in Texas. She told us that she did all the underwater work in the video herself, and it wasn’t easy.

Carly revealed, “It was me. The whole video is me. I underestimated how difficult it would be to swim underwater with a large wedding dress on. It was really, really crazy to feel the weight of that, but I feel like it almost helped me to get it into the character some. It scared me because at times, you know, you think, oh, I know how to swim. But when you feel that kind of weight really pulling you down, it’s quite scary.”

She added, “But those scenes of me coming out of the water, I mean, if you look, my dress is broken on the sleeve, and that was actually what really happened just because of the wear and tear of what I was doing. But that was one of the harder things I think I’ve done, physically, and honestly, the mental game of that was pretty hard.”

RELATED: Carly Pearce Says Blake Shelton 'Practically Killed' Her On Tour

Today (3/24), Pearce released her first live album of her performances at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium last year, 29 Written In Stone: Live From Music City.

She posted to Instagram, “I always loved live records as a kid and knew that one day I would have one of my own. The songs of 29: Written In Stone really taught me who I am as an artist and as a woman. Night after night, my band and I found something special playing these songs, and I wanted those moments to live forever.”

She continued, “So for those of you who joined us on the 29 Tour, take this album to relive those special moments. And for those of you who didn’t join us, here’s a piece of one of the greatest, most unexpected, seasons of my life.”

CMT's Sixteen 2023 Nominees For Video of The Year

  • Ashley McBryde, Caylee Hammack, Brandy Clark & Pillbox Patti – “Bonfire at Tina’s”

    The song comes from the Lindeville concept album which centers on a fictional town that is home to the various characters that appear in McBryde’s songs.

  • Blake Shelton – “No Body”

    Blake donned a fake mullet like he used to have in the 1990s with this video. The song is from his next album.

  • Carrie Underwood – “Hate My Heart”

    This video was filmed in a club in Nashville. Carrie co-wrote the song with HARDY, Hillary Lindsey, and David Garcia.

  • Cody Johnson – “Human”

    This song comes from Cody’s Human: The Double Album, which is his seventh studio album.

  • Elle King feat. Dierks Bentley – “Worth a Shot”

    King developed the concept for this fun western video, and it was shot in Murfreesboro, Tennessee.

  • Gabby Barrett – “Pick Me Up”

    This video features Barrett’s husband, Cade Foehner, and showcases the journey of a couple as young adults to their elderly years. Gabby admits that she cried once she saw the music video for the first time.

  • HARDY feat. Lainey Wilson – “wait in the truck”

    The video follows the song, depicting a character played by HARDY killing the abuser of a character played by Wilson.

  • Jimmie Allen – “Down Home”

    The song is a tribute to Allen’s father, who died in 2019. Allen shot the video at his childhood house.

  • Kane Brown & Katelyn Brown – “Thank God”

    This video was filmed in Hawaii. The song is the first number one song for the married couple.

  • Keith Urban – “Wild Hearts”

    The song alludes to some moments from Urban’s life, including his childhood memory of seeing Johnny Cash in concert with his father.

  • Kelsea Ballerini – “HEARTFIRST”

    Kelsea said of the song in a statement, “It is the lovechild of The Corrs and Sheryl Crow, with a little Shania sprinkled on top.”

  • Little Big Town – “Rich Man”

    This is a song that Jimi Westbrook wrote. Nashville Actor Charles Esten stars in the video.

  • Luke Bryan – “Country On”

    Luke told us of the song when it came out in July of 2022, “It’s got patriotism in it, it’s got honoring people that keep us free and people that keep us safe and look after us.”

  • Luke Combs – “The Kind of Love We Make”

    This touching video follows the parallel stories of an older and younger couple.

  • Morgan Wallen – “You Proof”

    The song is about “drinking away the memory of a previous lover.” Wallen released it to honor his 29th birthday.

  • Walker Hayes – “AA”

    Walker said in a statement when he released the song, “I’ve struggled with alcohol abuse and sometimes I wish I didn’t need AA, but I do. I think a lot of people can relate to that.”


Sign me up to be a member of Club QYK!

Club QYK has your access to concert presale information, personalized country music news, exclusive contests and local events.

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.