Primary Menu
TAMPA, FLORIDA - SEPTEMBER 30: Steven Stamkos #91 of the Tampa Bay Lightning holds the Stanley Cup trophy above his head during the 2020 Stanley Cup Champion rally on September 30, 2020 in Tampa, Florida. (Photo by Douglas P. DeFelice/Getty Images)

The Tampa Bay Lightning will open their 2021 shortened season at Amalie Arena on January 13th. They will be taking on the Chicago Blackhawks.

Historically, the first home game of the new season is when the reigning Stanley Cup-winning team raises their Championship banner to the rafters, but we haven’t received confirmation on that from the team as of yet.

According to a press release from the team:

“The season is shortened to 55 games and the team’s divisions have been realigned, just for this season. Tampa Bay will play each divisional opponent eight times and will not compete against other divisions during the regular season. Other teams in that division include the Carolina Hurricanes, Chicago Blackhawks, Columbus Blue Jackets, Dallas Stars, Detroit Red Wings, Florida Panthers and Nashville Predators. Detroit and Florida are the only other teams from the Atlantic Division to also be moved to the Central through re-alignment during return to play.”

“Ticket information, if available, will be made available at a later date.”

So no official word yet on if we will get to see our Bolts play in person as they open the season. Fingers crossed since the Toronto Raptors are already playing at Amalie Arena and are inviting fans to watch.

2021 TAMPA BAY LIGHTNING SCHEDULE

Day Date Opponent Day Date Opponent
Wed. 1/13/2021 Chicago Sat. 3/13/2021 Nashville
Fri. 1/15/2021 Chicago Mon. 3/15/2021 Nashville
Sun. 1/17/2021 Dallas Thu. 3/18/2021 Chicago
Tue. 1/19/2021 Dallas Sat. 3/20/2021 Chicago
Thu. 1/21/2021 @ Columbus Tue. 3/23/2021 @ Dallas
Sat. 1/23/2021 @ Columbus Thu. 3/25/2021 @ Dallas
Tue. 1/26/2021 @ Carolina Sat. 3/27/2021 @ Carolina
Thu. 1/28/2021 @ Carolina Sun. 3/28/2021 @ Carolina
Sat. 1/30/2021 Nashville Tue. 3/30/2021 Columbus
Mon. 2/1/2021 Nashville Thu. 4/1/2021 Columbus
Wed. 2/3/2021 Detroit Sat. 4/3/2021 Detroit
Fri. 2/5/2021 Detroit Sun. 4/4/2021 Detroit
Mon. 2/8/2021 @ Nashville Tue. 4/6/2021 @ Columbus
Tue. 2/9/2021 @ Nashville Thu. 4/8/2021 @ Columbus
Thu. 2/11/2021 @ Florida Sat. 4/10/2021 @ Nashville
Sat. 2/13/2021 @ Florida Mon. 4/12/2021 @ Nashville
Tue. 2/16/2021 Florida Thu. 4/15/2021 Florida
Thu. 2/18/2021 @ Dallas Sat. 4/17/2021 Florida
Sat. 2/20/2021 @ Dallas Mon. 4/19/2021 Carolina
Mon. 2/22/2021 Carolina Tue. 4/20/2021 Carolina
Thu. 2/25/2021 Carolina Thu. 4/22/2021 Columbus
Sat. 2/27/2021 Dallas Sun. 4/25/2021 Columbus
Mon. 3/1/2021 Dallas Tue. 4/27/2021 @ Chicago
Thu. 3/4/2021 @ Chicago Sat. 5/1/2021 @ Detroit
Fri. 3/5/2021 @ Chicago Sun. 5/2/2021 @ Detroit
Sun. 3/7/2021 @ Chicago Tue. 5/4/2021 Florida
Tue. 3/9/2021 @ Detroit Thu. 5/6/2021 @ Florida
Thu. 3/11/2021 @ Detroit Sat. 5/8/2021 @ Florida

 

And in other news, Tampa Bay Lightning superstar and stand out from the Stanley Cup Celebrations, Nikita Kucherov will not be playing in the upcoming season. Say it ain’t so #PartyKuch.


Lightning Players and Fans Celebrate the Stanley Cup’s Return to Tampa