Primary Menu

Launa

Weekdays 10AM-3PM

389769 01: (FILE PHOTO) A car sports a bumper sticker that strongly suggests other drivers should concentrate on their driving instead of talking on cell phones May 24, 2001 in San Diego, CA. New York Governor George Pataki signed a bill June 28, 2001 banning drivers in New York State from using hand held cell phones. (Photo by Tom Keck/Getty Images)

It’s currently against the law to text and drive but police can’t pull someone over for just that alone, but that may change today.

Florida senators are going to debate a bill today that could affect every driver in the state when it comes to texting and driving.

The House has already approved a new bill regarding texting and driving.  They now want to make texting while driving a primary offense, which would allow police to pullover drivers caught committing the offense behind the wheel.

Senators want to take it a step further by also requiring drivers to only use hands-free devices while behind the wheel.

A first offense is punishable by a $30 fine, with a second offense costing $60. Court costs and fees also would apply.

The texting ban does not apply to a driver using a navigation device or system or to a driver whose vehicle is stationary.

Efforts failed last year to pass a similar bill.

The House and Senate versions of a texting and driving bill will have to match up before making its way to the Governor’s desk.

What do you think?  There are way too many distracted drivers on the roads these days…Something has to change.  It’s only going to get worse.

Read more HERE